About Us

The inaugural Sydney to Mooloolaba Yacht Race was run in 1964 and was actually known as the Sydney to Brisbane race, the finish moving to Mooloolaba in 1973 so the fleet didn't have to negotiate the tides and sandbanks of Moreton Bay.

Time...s were slow when adverse wind and current prevailed with the Vince Walsh skippered Southern Cross Cup champion Boambillie took a mind bending 145 hours 21 minutes 4 seconds to complete the 1969 race.

Grant Wharington's Skandia was a regular frontrunner in the previous race to Mooloolaba but could never knock George Snow's Brindabella out of the record books.

This year marks 20 years since the original mighty Jutson 79 set the monohull race record that still stands - 1 day 20 hours 1 minute 43 seconds - back in 2004.

The most significant point of difference to any previous bluewater races run from Sydney to Mooloolaba is they catered only for monohulls.

The 2015 Sydney to Mooloolaba Yacht Race is a Cat 2 race open to eligible multihulls and monohulls with separate trophies for each.